Primary election results certified

Staff Writer | August 18, 2020 10:21 PM

EPHRATA — Incumbent county commissioners received fewer votes than their challengers in Grant and Adams counties in primary election results certified Aug. 18.

Challenger Rob Jones, of Moses Lake, received slightly more votes than incumbent Tom Taylor, of Moses Lake, in the race for Grant County Commissioner, District 2. Jones has 3,378 votes to 3,158 for Taylor.

Challenger Dan Blankenship, of Ritzville, finshed the primary with a big lead over incumbent John Marshall, of Ritzville, in the race for Adams County commissioner, District 1. Blankenship has 1,093 votes to 462 votes for Marshall. The third candidate in the race, Glenn Stockwell, of Ritzville, finished with 375 votes. The top two candidates will advance to the general election.

Danny Stone, of Hartline, finished with the most votes in the race for Grant County Commissioner, District 1. Stone has 3,506 votes to 2,688 for Earl Romig, of Moses Lake. Mark Wanke, of Ephrata, has 1,663 votes. Incumbent Richard Stevens did not file for re-election.

Jay Weise, of Othello, led Ken Johnson, of Othello, in the race for Adams County Commissioner, District 2. Weise has 486 votes to 269 for Johnson. Incumbent Roger Hartwig didn’t file for re-election.

Incumbent Tom Dent, of Moses Lake, will be challenged by Eduardo Castaneda-Diaz, of Quincy, in the race for Washington House of Representatives, 13th District, Position No. 1. In the primary, Dent received 15,540 votes to 3,659 votes for Casteneda-Diaz in Grant County. Across the 13th District, Dent received 31,136 votes to 9,553 for Castaneda-Diaz. John “the man” Malan, of Quincy, received 586 votes in Grant County and 1,136 votes in the 13th District overall.

The House seat was the only contested legislative race in the 13th District.

One of the House seats and the Washington Senate seat in the Ninth District were contested races.

Incumbent Mark Schoesler, of Ritzville, finished the primary with a substantial lead over challenger Jenn Goulet, of Pasco, in the race for the Washington Senate. Schoesler had 2,744 votes to 702 votes for Goulet in Adams County. District-wide, Schoesler finished with 26,707 votes to 12,753 for Goulet.

Incumbent Mary Dye, of Pomeroy, also had a big lead over challenger Brett Borden, of Pullman. In Adams County Dye received 2,861 votes to 446 for Borden. Across the district, Dye had 29,056 votes to 7,870 for Borden.