Blankenship leads Marshall in Adams County Commission race

Staff Writer | August 4, 2020 10:06 PM

RITZVILLE — Challenger Dan Blankenship has a substantial lead over incumbent John Marshall in the race for Adams County commissioner in early results from the primary election Aug. 4.

Jay Weise, Othello, is leading Ken Johnson, also of Othello, in the race for the open commission seat. Incumbent commissioner Roger Hartwig did not seek reelection.

In unofficial results released Tuesday night, Blankenship, of Ritzville, had 509 votes to 204 votes for Marshall, also of Ritzville. The third candidate in the race, Ritzville resident Glen Stockwell, had 153 votes.

Marshall is running for his third term on the commission. The two candidates who receive the most votes will advance to the general election in November.

Weise, currently the Adams County emergency management director, had 200 votes to 86 for Johnson, owner of Johnson’s Glass in Othello.

In the race for Washington Senate, Ninth District incumbent Mark Schoesler has a comfortable lead over challenger Jenn Goulet, both in Adams County and in the Ninth District.

Schoesler, Ritzville, has 1,182 votes in Adams County to 276 votes for Goulet, Pasco. Districtwide, Schoesler had 14,937 votes to 7,276 votes for Goulet.

Incumbent Mary Dye has a substantial lead over challenger Brett Borden in the race for the Ninth District, Position No. 1 seat in the Washington House of Representatives. Dye was leading in Adams County and in the district. In Adams County Dye, a Republican from Pomeroy, had 1,220 votes to 172 votes for Borden, Pullman, running as the Libertarian candidate. Districtwide, Dye had 16,381 votes to 4,511 votes for Borden.